Avisford Park Hotel

Fine luxury hotel near the South Coast

Member since February 2022

From £54.50 pppn for a 1 night stay
to £85 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Avisford Park Hotel Reviews

Walberton, Arundel, West Sussex, BN18 0LS

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Avisford Park Hotel

21 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

One night stay

Ian, Greater London, stayed: January 2023

Overall a good stay, with only 3 issues.
bed was far to hard to get a good nights sleep.
Minor issues,
No Guinness in the bar,out of stock.
Served bubble gum ice cream that ruined the dessert.

I would like to see on option of where electric cars could be charged but this is not a complaint more a recommendation to make the hotel more attractive to people with electric cars.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

It was OK, maybe not our thing.

PC, Kent, stayed: December 2022

Have to admit that we only booked due to having received some vouchers as a gift, which effectively halved the price of what was a good offer, but we generally take quite a few breaks per year & it only brought the price down to what we might normally pay for a nice hotel & meal in say a good village country pub. The hotel is in a area we wanted to visit, but some way out of town. Our room was quite a walk from reception. Our main issue was the restaurant & bar area being so cold. We left our restaurant table before dessert to go into the bar in the hope it would be warmer, but wasn't. Our room was warm, so we returned to it pretty early in the evening which was a shame as we would have liked to have had a few drinks & also not rushed the desserts. The food was good, menu a bit limited, especially the choice of desserts, ice cream based. No warm puddings. Breakfast was good, although the printed out of order or "no hot chocolate" signs looked a little unprofessional at a higher end establishment. Also needed to watch my head in the corridors leading to our room. Very low roof / ceiling supports. Putting hazard tape on them is a good safety measure, but why did that design get passed? Didn't use the leisure facilities, but understood that they may have been closed anyway. At full price we would not have been happy, but it was acceptable for what we paid. We fully understand the challenges at the moment. It is probably a great wedding & conference venue. Between us we were from large golf, leisure, hotel & catering backgrounds, so don't like being over critical & fully understand the challenges faced by these styles of venues over recent years & perhaps also why we tend to stay in smaller, more personal venues when we take short breaks.



Avisford Park Hotel says...

Dear Mr Copsey,

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that the restaurant and bar were cold. I have passed on your comments regarding a warm dessert to our Head Chef, one is definitely needed in this period of cold weather! I am sorry that overall your time at the hotel did not meeting your expectations.

Regards
Liz Woodsell
Commercial Director

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Poor hotel, nice staff

CR, Surrey, stayed: November 2022

When we arrived at the hotel for a weekend getaway we where met with half a building site, there was scaffolding covering one side of the building and looked very dated compared to photos. When we entered reception again it was a bit dated and needed some tlc. The receptionist was very nice and as the hotel was pretty empty that weekend she offered to upgrade our room, which was very kind of her. Again walking from reception to the room there was building work going on with random paint pots left on the side of walkways and window ledges not exactly the best feel for a luxury hotel .
The room was a good size with separate living space and bedroom but again the room was poor, there was wallpaper pealing, stains on the carpet and overall needed refurbing.
We had dinner in the restaurant as part of our package and the food itself was ok but my partners came out cold which had to be sent back and redone. The staff where very apologetic and offered my wife a complimentary drink.
The pool and spa area was also closed which we where not aware of upon booking, which added to the disappointment.
Overall I was very disappointed with the stay as it was something me and my wife where looking forward to and did not meet our expectations as we where recommended offpeakluxury by people we know who have used the site before and have always been happy with the hotels provided.


Offpeakluxury says...

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review.

With regards to the spa facilities being closed, this information is shown on our wesbite. The facilities were damaged during a storm and have been closed for some time now.

Kind regards

Off Peak Luxury

 


Avisford Park Hotel says...

Dear Mr Ross,

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that the staff were nice and we were able to provide you with an upgraded room. Please accept my apologies that the rest of your experience did not meeting your expectations.

Regards
Liz Woodsell
Commercial Director

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Great hotel conveniently located near to local beaches

Anon, stayed: October 2022

We had a lovely 2 night stay here in October 2022. The staff were very helpful. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which was great.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar area as we took our 2 dogs with us but we were looked after very well.

Would highly recommend.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Stay at Avisford Park

PF, Nottinghamshire, stayed: October 2022

Came across Offpeakluxury quite by chance they sorted a good deal for the Avisford Park, having read the previous reviews wondered what it would be like.
The hotel is set back from the A27 so little disturbance from traffic noise, car parking is ample
Staff very helpful.
The restaurant I would say is ok down to the hot breakfast being luke warm.
The rooms clean and spacious but I found the bed to be too hard and needed an extra duvet.
There was no decaffinated tea either
There is work being carried out at the Avisford but it caused no disturbance during my stay,
Would certainly stay again



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Quite good but restaurant menu limited

Chas M, Suffolk, stayed: September 2022

Good location Rooms OK Staff friendly good for walking around the golf course.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Disappointing if luxury and fine food was the expectation

AW, Hertfordshire, stayed: September 2022

The venue did not meet my wife and I 's expectation of the venue. We had dinner on the first evening and did not enjoy the meal at all. In the restaurant the atmosphere was spoiled by the extremely noisy behaviour of young male golfers who were drinking too much and making far too much noise. We were not able to relax as a result. In addition my wife's main course was not properly cooked with fondant potato not executed properly and fish overcooked. This was brought to the attention of management and new ingredients used but with little improvement in the outcome. The bill was reduced in acknowledgment of our complaint.
The buffet breakfast was of a good standard. Our room was very bland, typical of those used to house delegates to business meetings or to accommodate wedding guests overnight.
There was a wedding on the Saturday night in the vicinity of our room with a disco lasting until midnight.
I did not consider that the hotel offered much that made it stand out from the crowd. It was frequented by golfers and by coach parties catering for older people.



Avisford Park Hotel says...

Dear Mr Wright,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Avisford Park, which we were disappointed to receive. Please accept my apologies for the hotel not meeting your expectations. I have shared your comments regarding the atmosphere in the restaurant and the fondant potatoes with the appropriate managers.

We really appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps to highlight shortcomings in the operation and equally to understand our guest's expectations better.

Best wishes,
Liz Woodsell
Commercial Director

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Ok stay but!

John, Kent, stayed: September 2022

Room adequate but bathroom needed updating. In communal areas with heavy drapes and curtains, dust and old cobwebs visible and redecoration needed.
Staff attentive and offer good service. Reasonable choice in restaurant menu and food good.
One of our party of 4 has mobility issues and the large sprawling hotel has no lifts and our second proffered rooms were sited a long walk from reception. The first proffered rooms were sited in a separate building called the Garden Lodge which is connected to the main hotel by stairs and a very long corridor!



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: