Balmer Lawn Hotel

4 star country hotel & spa in the heart of the New Forest

Member since 2015

Tier four

1 to 2 night stays
From £97 pppn for a 2 night stay
to £110 pppn
£97 per night for a 2 night stay
to £110 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Balmer Lawn Hotel Reviews

Brockenhurst, Hampshire, SO42 7ZB

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Balmer Lawn Hotel

21 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Food

Carol L, Surrey, stayed: October 2020

We thought the food was poor value for money especially the starters, small portions as well

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Post lockdown mini break

CB, GLOUCESTERSHIRE, stayed: September 2020

WE stayed for 2 nights as our first trip away from home after shielding through the COVID pandemic.
We felt safe and well looked after, with staff paying good attention to protecting their customers.
We had a lovely spacious room : with a quirky outlook onto turfed roof space complete with a life sized sheep! It was well facilitated and we could get anything extra we needed from reception.
Breakfast was a buffet: though serving the cooked from buffet stations seemed pointless: it would be simpler for staff to take an order and colllect it from the kitchen.
Dinner was excellent.
Service both in the bar and dining room was efficient and pleasant.
The pool was disappointing: cold, and a difficult shape for actually swimming in!
Over all a great break in a superb location

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Very disappointing

DG, Herefordshire, stayed: January 2020

I had hoped to discuss our experience with the hotel manager but he wasn t at the hotel when we left and he hasn t responded to our email.

Our superior room (23) was shabby, with a hole in the wall and torn wallpaper where presumably a curtain tie was originally fitted. The furniture has seen better days. There were large stains in the ceiling. The tv room had a very strong smell in it, possibly of vinyl. Neither the decor nor the hanging pictures reflected the description of the rooms provided on your website. Presumably because the wall mounted air con unit no longer worked, a large free standing unit was in the bedroom, which added to the feeling of clutter with a second wall mounted tv (why two TVs?). In any case we couldn t have used the air con unit as the venting hose wasn t venting to outside. So pretty pointless. No fridge. No view except of outside walls, other bedrooms and plastic grass. And a pretend sheep. All a little surprising for a superior room. The bath plug mechanism needs sorting; when my wife took a bath, we couldn t get the plug out without some prising. Ceiling bulbs not working. The overall effect reminded me a little of a rather tired b&b

We have stayed in a number of dog friendly hotels, one not far from this hotel, and this is the first we have stayed at not to have anything at all in the room for the dog eg bowls, towel, treats. It wouldn t be an issue but for the surcharge.

At dinner, my wife had torched mackerel which left her feeling slightly peculiar. I tasted the fish, which made me gag immediately. I thought it might be off . We mentioned this to the waitress and she made enquiries. The chef said it definitely wasn t off but was the result of the curing process. I don t think the curing process had much to do with what I tasted! We were offered a different starter but declined as I d already finished my starter. The rest of the food was ok but three rather plain and small scallops for a 16 starter made me feel like a mug! It is always a preferred starter for me and this was seriously underwhelming especially for the money. We were also very surprised to see that a couple of breakfast options that I would have gone for had 6.00 surcharges.

The spa was also underwhelming; a small indoor pool, a very small jacuzzi and sauna. The changing rooms were messy with towels and rubbish on the floor. Shouldn t staff be checking?

There were other observations I made in my email to the manager that I won t bore you with. Suffice to say, we were utterly underwhelmed with our experience, felt ripped off and treated like mugs.

Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

Anon, stayed: September 2019

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Customer service:

Location:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Happy customers (with a few moans)

Jane J, Dorset, stayed: August 2019

I stayed in early July with my daughter and was very impressed. The food was of a very high standard, and our room was lovely.
Unfortunately the return visit with my husband was less impressive from the food point of view. Also, we had a room (room 4) outside which there were extractor fans. We needed our windows open because it was a very warm night. So the noise of the fans disturbed us.
I will say though that we will not be deterred and will return another time. We enjoyed our weekend irrespective of these negative points.

Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Location:

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again

Short Break

CB, Hampshire, stayed: August 2019

We really enjoyed our stay made even better with a complimentary room upgrade with a wonderful balcony overlooking the cricket ground.

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Excellent staff, great amenities!

Laura, Essex, stayed: May 2019

Thank you for a lovely stay and making my mum's 70th special!

Highlights for us were:
Location
Attentive staff - nothing was too much trouble
Relaxing atmosphere and welcoming families and dogs! (very well behaved as well!)

Since being back we have recommended the hotel to a number of our friends and also dog loving friends!

The highlight for the children was the lovely warm outdoor swimming pool which kept them entertained all weekend!

Thank you once again!
Laura

Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Restaurant Disappointment

Kevin F, Channel Isles, stayed: May 2019

Dinner; ok but overpriced for the food quality.
Breakfast; on 1st day, cooked food ran out and was some time before this was replenished, despite being told several times "only 10 minutes" By the time one item was replenished, others were unavailable, by which time supplied drinks were cold. Napkins supplied to hold hot plates; well all plates were cold. By 2nd day we gave up and didn't bother attempting a cooked breakfast.
Not the service one would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Value for money:

Location:

Spa: