Borrowdale Gates Hotel

4* country hotel in the Borrowdale Valley

Member since 2020

Tier four

From £149.29 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £182.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Borrowdale Gates Hotel Reviews

Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 5UQ

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Borrowdale Gates Hotel

76 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Keith S, Lancashire, stayed: November 2023

Everything we wished for and will definitely be going again.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Could do better!!

Malcolm L, Cheshire, stayed: October 2023

The Hotel is in an extremely pleasant situation. The Staff were always helpful although some older staff were a bit grumpy and obviously required more training.The menu for Dinner was very
ambitious but I believe on occasions the actual food was not of the best quality.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Three night stay 4-6th September 2023

CE, Merseyside, stayed: September 2023

What more could you look for in a hotel the staff are friendly welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them, it is set in the most beautiful surroundings, the food was excellent, our room was spot on and the toiletries were really nice, we had a lovely relaxing break and the weather added to the enjoyment



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Good but not perfect

JL, Perthshire, stayed: August 2023

We arrived and checked in. According to the hotel notes in the room, we should have been offered a drink on arrival (tea,coffee,soft). This didn't happen. No matter, we went to our room and proceeded to make our own cup of tea.. In the welcome pack, there was a pack of biscuits, opened with one biscuit remaining. Not a good start. On unpacking, we then found a pair of socks left in one of the drawers. We had preprandial drinks in the bar, ordered our meal and wine to accompany it. As the Starter and Main were were seafood, we chose a Sauvignon Blanc.. The Starter was excellent, but the main when it arrived was a beef dish. The waiter was perfunctory in his handling of the situation, and almost challenged us on the order. I was able to point to the chilled wine container of white wine there to accompany the seafood meal.. The food really was excellent both evenings and most of the staff were polite and pleasant.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: July 2023

Excellent location, service and restaurant. Have stayed here a number of times and have always been fully satisfied and refreshed by our stay.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Charming hotel in great location

David S, Merseyside, stayed: July 2023

Excellent food with well varied menu for our three night stay. Friendly and helpful staff



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Favourite hotel

Ron, North Yorkshire, stayed: June 2023

We have taken short breaks in the Lake District for over 30 years but this has been our first stay in Borrowdale Gates. I can honestly say that this is one of the most relaxing hotels in which we have ever stayed. The room, with its wonderful mountain views and a balcony from which to enjoy them was spacious and comfortable.
The fabulous food and the prompt waitress/waiter service was unobtrusive but most efficient
Borrowdale Gates has been promoted to our favourite UK hotel,



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

We had a wonderful time in an excellent hotel.

Anon, stayed: June 2023

This is an excellent hotel, in a glorious location.
Our room was comfortable and nicely located on the ground floor, with a terrace leading out onto the garden.
The restaurant was really good and we ate well.
Above all, we found the staff welcoming, helpful and keen to please.
We had a wonderful time and will definitely come again.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again