Borrowdale Gates Hotel

4* country hotel in the Borrowdale Valley

Member since 2020

Tier four

From £155 pppn for a 1 night stay
to £182.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Borrowdale Gates Hotel Reviews

Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 5UQ

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Borrowdale Gates Hotel

76 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Restful retreat

Anon, stayed: October 2020

This was a wonderful restful retreat for us in an idyllic setting amongst the Lake District Fells. Perfectly located for walks on the doorstep after a great breakfast. Then return home to dinners which we are still talking about. We felt very lucky to have stumbled across this hotel. Looking forward to a return visit.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: October 2020


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Excellent in every way

Marion P, Cambridgeshire, stayed: June 2021

Every aspect was much appreciated, the staff were really great considering the times we ve been through.
The organisation was excellent and not controlled by technology, which we appreciated!
The food and its presentation was special and enjoyable



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Wonderful lakes break

BN, Norfolk, stayed: March 2022

Fortunate with the weather, it was glorious. Hotel and staff looked after us very well. Area is fantastic. On the Sunday did the ferry all round the lake and then got dropped off at base of catbells which we then climbed all 451 m of it, a bit scrambly but views at the top are brilliant. Monday did the walk from the hotel all round Derwentwater lake which came out at 11.9 miles but it was worth it. It was good to get back for afternoon tea, a rest and then a very nice dinner in the evening. All in all a great lakes break made even better by the hotel and staff.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

A rare treat

David H, Select..., stayed: December 2021

There are many good country house hotels but Borrowdale Gates is right at the top. The food is amazing and the staff are very friendly. A key advantage is so many walks from the door.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely Stay

Nuala J, Mid Glamorgan, stayed: March 2020

Absolutely wonderful vacation, from the time we arrived until the time we left!!
The staff were attentive and friendly. We stayed in the Wainwright room which was light, airy, with fantastic views. Sitting out on the balcony in the evening - having a glass of G&T was a lovely end to the day.
The food was amazing - fabulous choice of breakfast; the porridge was to die for and the evening meals were well worth the wait.
All the staff were lovely.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Fantastic relaxing short break

LH, Northants, stayed: July 2020

Immediately made to feel at home by friendly attentive staff. Rooms were very large and really set up for two of us and the dog, albeit slightly dated. The restaurant was a fantastic addition and made the stay very stress free knowing we had a beautiful three course meal every night right in the hotel, couldn t fault a single thing about the food or service. Not a lot of amenities at the hotel but perfect for a 2 night stay and a great location for exploring the beautiful town of Keswick and surrounding lakes



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Romantic getaway

AR, West Yorkshire, stayed: September 2020

The room we stayed in was lovely, the staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the services offered (breakfast, dinner, drinks, coffee after dinner) were perfect. I couldn t think of a better place to stay in the Lake District.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again