Bowden Hall

4* Cotswold country hotel set in stunning parkland

Member since 2018

Tier four

From £59.30 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £82.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Bowden Hall Reviews

Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, GL4 8ED

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Bowden Hall

340 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Enjoyable stay

Anon, stayed: June 2024

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with the first night including a meal in their restaurant., Restaurant service was good but the food wasn`t. I had a humous based starter which failed to inspire followed by fish and chips which again fell far short of restaurant quality and had the feel of being mass produced as opposed to being freshly prepared. My wife had similar gripes with her starter but her main meal was enjoyed.
Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice from fresh fruit to full English.
Would return for the accommodation which was spacious but not for the restaurant food.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Great Staff

Tim, Hampshire, stayed: June 2024

My wife and I stayed 3 nights and everything about the hotel was great . The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the food in the restaurant was very enjoyable.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Sparkle break

BW, Suffolk, stayed: May 2024

We enjoyed a three night sparkle break and thoroughly enjoyed it. From arrival the staff were pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were looked after in the restaurant by Avi who was very professional yet friendly and welcoming. All the staff clearly enjoy their jobs. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet allowing a good night s sleep. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is situated in a rural area which makes it so relaxing.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Very nice place, but limited menu.

Michael W, Buckinghamshire, stayed: May 2024

Nice hotel in a very nice setting, and the staff are lovely. Very good breakfasts, but the main menu is a bit limited. Good for a short stay.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: May 2024


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Cotswolds break

GP, Derbyshire, stayed: April 2024

Perfect hotel to base for a Cotswolds break. The staff, rooms and restaurant were amongst the best of the hotels we have stayed, could not fault one single aspect of our stay.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Good Hotel but...

LR, Hertfordshire, stayed: April 2024

Well appointed hotel and room BUT
Despite the food being reasonably good our evening meal was spoiled by absolutely shambolic service. It took a good half hour from our reserved time to be seated and then an age to even get a drink. Maybe it was just a bad night but it was absolutely terrible - the opposite of relaxing.
The breakfast buffet was excellent BUT we could not book the times we wanted.
Our room was comfortable but when our room was serviced the maid managed to leave us without a bath mat and did not replace the canned water, instead just leaving what remained from the night before.



Bowden Hall says...

Dear Guest

I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the disappointing experiences you encountered during your recent stay with us. It is disheartening to hear that our otherwise well-appointed facilities were marred by service lapses in our dining and housekeeping areas.

Regarding your dinner experience, I am truly sorry for the delays and overall poor service you received. This is not reflective of our usual standards, and we had two staff members call in sick for their shift which we were unable to replace on top of a medical emergency in our outside dining pods we are taking steps to address this with our restaurant team to ensure such incidents are not repeated.

Additionally, I apologize for the inconvenience you faced in not being able to book your preferred breakfast times. We appreciate your feedback and will review our reservation procedures to enhance the guest experience in this regard.

Regarding the housekeeping issues with your room, I apologize that it was not clear that the water in the bedrooms is complimentary on arrival only and therefore not replenished.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we genuinely appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. Please know that we are dedicated to addressing these issues promptly to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

Kind regards

Gavin
General Manager

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Wonderful Short Break

Rachel H, Dorset, stayed: April 2024

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Bowden Hall. Warm friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. We stayed in a Privilege Room which was large and clean with fresh decor & overlooked the grounds and river/lake. The meals were very tasty, I would recommend the mushroom linguine. Breakfast was self catering and had plenty to choose from. The building has lots of character and I especially liked the scuptures and decor in the main part of the building. There is no lift but there is a stair lift to the ground floor rooms so they can still cater for wheelchair users. We were on the top floor but didn't mind the stairs.
We had afternoon tea in one of the dining pods, reception were very helpful when we had to change our booking and the food was delicious. The pods have music and heating and are decorated for the season.
Would definitely recommend and return.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again