Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Luxury hotel on the shores of Grasmere

Member since May 2023

From £140 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £172.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Daffodil Hotel & Spa Reviews

Keswick Road, Grasmere, Cumbria, LA22 9PR

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Daffodil Hotel & Spa

7 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Wonderful stay

BW, Suffolk, stayed: May 2024

We loved our stay at the Daffodil. It was relaxing and very friendly. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The view from our window was so nice .and from the garden the view of Grasmere lake was stunning.

We would definitely visit here again with its lovely surroundings and give it top marks.



Overall Rating:

Spa:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Location:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Fiona M, Cumbria, stayed: November 2023


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Daffodil Hotel

KR, Surrey, stayed: October 2023

The location of this hotel is special, everything else is pretty average , stayed in a suite over looking the car park the adjoining room consists of two mismatched sofa beds a cheap table with a tv stuck on the wall not so sweet, the rest of the hotel looks tired stained carpets fake flowers etc. overall lacks atmosphere so yeh average



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Daffodil hotel overnight stay

BB, Lancashire, stayed: September 2023

Lovely room very spacious and warm. The spa was very relaxing and included lovely robes and slippers as well as a big fluffy towel. Food was great evening dinner was fabulous followed by next morning a fantastic breakfast that had everything you could wish for.



Overall Rating:

Spa:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Location:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

OK

Chris, County Durham, stayed: August 2023

My wife and I had never been to the Lake District so we booked a night away for her birthday. There were 21 hotels on the country breaks website and I was most impressed by the daffodil, the pictures and idyllic location justified the fact it was the most expensive option. I paid for a lake view room, I was called after booking to tell me the room was in fact not available and offered a downgrade. I declined and paid extra towards a better room, a junior suite. Sounded great but in fact was very average and had a view of the car park. I paid extra towards this despite my booking, it stated a complimentary room upgrade was included in my package. It was almost 400 for one night including the spa.

The spa was great and the sauna exceptional, it was quite busy however and not quite the romantic intimate experience I was expecting. The staff were great to be fair however being promoted to top every time I ordered a drink at the bar annoying especially after paying extra for my room and on top of the luxury scenic car park view room

The staff in the restaurant were excellent to be fair, some of the most professional I have had the pleasure of being waited on by. The food however not amazing. We were looking forward to this after the long travel, i did enjoy the chicken tagine but the lamb main was ok, I have made better myself. The potato was excellent. My wife got the duck breast starter which was good, but the seafood risotto was awful. No offence. It was fishy and not a prawn in sight! The cocktails were great. We declined a dessert. The meal was almost 150 which we got a 35pp contribution towards, which would basically cover a main course. That absolutely was not worth 150 and was a disappointing birthday meal for my wife

The location is lovely and we had a drive into Windermere to see more of the Lake District the day after to make a bit more of an occasion of the trip. Overall we were disappointed with the experience, I would stay again but not for the price we paid

Thanks

Chris


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your review.

Your initial request booking was on Request, which is advised the whole way through the booking process.  It is not a confirmed booking and the hotel confirms whether they have the room requested or not.  Unfortunately the room requested was not available for your dates and they offered an alternative room upgrade, which you confirmed you'd like to take.

On your package it does state that the 'complimentary room upgrade on arrival is subject to availability', this is only offered if available on arrival, this is not given at time of booking.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Country Hotel Breaks


Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Customer service:

Spa:

  • Would stay here again

Would be happy to return

KH, North Yorkshire, stayed: August 2023

A very pleasant stay in a scenic location. Nice quality rooms with excellent cleanliness. The thermal pool was a welcome retreat at the end of a day (kept having to restart it every few mins though). Restaurant service & food quality were excellent for both breakfast & evening meal, however the same menu for every night, meaning very limited choice if you have dietary requirements which weren t actually noted on the menu anyway (e.g. vegetarian/vegan etc).



Overall Rating:

Spa:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Daffodil Hotel and Spa

WG, North Yorkshire, stayed: June 2023

We thoroughly enjoyed a 2 night break at this hotel in Grasmere, Ambleside.
The hotel is very impressive and in a beautiful location at the northern end of the mere.
The Interior is finished to a high standard and the staff were a credit to your hotel.

The only slight hiccup we had was that some other resident appeared to have put a meal and drinks bill on our room. However the hotel staff were quick to remedy the problem. I did suggest that the restaurant staff, upon receiving resident diners really ought to insist on seeing their keycard cardboard wallets showing the room number. This would go a long way to reducing the possibility of this happening again.

Having said that, the mishap was professionally dealt with by the management/reception staff and it would not stop us from recommending the Daffodil to others.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Location:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again