Down Hall

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Member since 2011

1 to 7 night stays
From £83 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £100 pppn
£83 per night for a 7 night stay
to £100 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Down Hall Reviews

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Down Hall

209 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Highly recommend

Anon, stayed: September 2020

Superb short break
Calm and peaceful atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Location:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Wonderful retreat in peaceful Essex countryside.

Kathleen H, essex, stayed: September 2020

My first visit to Down Hall was arranged by my 3 lovely sons(and their families) to celebrate my 70th birthday. We had a great stay in beautiful rooms and enjoyed the delicious food in the gourmet restaurant served by the most welcoming, professional and attentive staff, nothing was a trouble to them. That was six years ago. Since then my sister and I have stayed at Down Hall several times and have found the same welcome, high standards and professionalism from all members of staff. It is a beautiful place, both inside and out offering peaceful woodland walks in the vast grounds. It has become our go to place for relaxation and unwinding.

Thank you to all at Down Hall

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Location:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Perfect Birthday Treat

Helen G, Hertfordshire, stayed: September 2020

We enjoyed a most relaxing and special weekend at Down Hall. From start to finish everything was perfect. The staff are all welcoming and helpful, the room was lovely and clean, the food was delicious and the grounds were breathtaking.

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Location:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Relaxing

Geraldine fox, stayed: August 2020

Great hotel and grounds

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Location:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Two-night post-wedding break

Gordon and Lauren, Suffolk, stayed: August 2020

We had a fabulous and relaxing time during this two-night break, which was a wedding gift from friends. We enjoyed the grounds and spa facilities.

Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Location:

Customer service:

Spa:

  • Would stay here again

Superb

Tracy O, Essex, stayed: February 2020

Recently stayed at the hotel with friends and family to celebrate a big birthday. Our stay was truly amazing and 5 star service by all the staff.

Overall Rating:

Location:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Spa:

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again

Excellent

Karen, stayed: February 2020

Lovely Hotel is undergoing renovations which did not make any difference to our stay and are really overdue..I hope the bar is next on the to do list as it is not very welcoming.. However DH is our favourite break away venue..

Overall Rating:

Location:

Value for money:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Recent stay at Down Hall

Anon, stayed: February 2020

We had a lovely weekend once again at Down Hall. However there were just a few things that could be improved at the hotel. Our room was very cold. It is their policy to leave it to the guests, but the heating needs to be put on before guests arrive. We requested twin beds but this had not been made up. It was soon rectified however.
We could not fault the Offpeak luxury service.

Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again