Down Hall

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Member since 2011

Tier four

1 to 7 night stays
From £82 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £100 pppn
£82 per night for a 7 night stay
to £100 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Down Hall Reviews

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Down Hall

222 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

All your needs met

Anon, stayed: December 2020

This is not my first time here and won t be my last, it s a beautiful hotel with attentive staff.
Afternoon tea was beautiful, dinner delicious and breakfast exactly what we asked for.
As vegans everything was spot on!!
The staff were super nice, accommodating and professional.
The gym has a lovely sauna and steam room.
All in all, I couldn t find a fault.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Location:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

relaxing weekend away

Jane, Cambs, stayed: December 2020

The entire staff were excellent and very friendly. Our room was huge but not very warm, even with the thermostat turned up to maximum. We later discovered that only one radiator was working. The huge bathroom was warmer! The bed was not very comfy, the mattress being very thin. We appreciated that because of covid the menu was not the same as normal, but was so limited that there was only two things on the menu that I would eat, so had only one meal in the restaurant.We did have afternoon tea one afternoon which was delightful. The weather was very wet the weekend we stayed so we did not get to walk around the grounds but they did look lovely so hope to go back in the summer to appreciate them. In all, the hotel is very grand and lovely but has a few things we found need attention.We hope to return, covid permitting!

Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: October 2020

Overall Rating:

Location:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely weekend

TD, stayed: October 2020

We went for my partner s birthday and had a lovely time - the hotel and gardens are beautiful, the food was very nice, the spa was fantastic and the staff were all brilliant. And they had been very thoughtful about how to deal with covid restrictions, with social distancing etc. Hopefully can come back soon, in more normal times!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Great Country house hotel

Shirley, Essex, stayed: October 2020

Lovely hotel. Reception and restaurant staff very welcoming. Covid restrictions very good.
They use one of their wedding state rooms for dining to ensure social distancing.
Room large, clean and comfortable.

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Hotel with friendly staff.

Anon, stayed: October 2020

Hotel catered well for our needs. When put in larger restaurant it lacked atmosphere - food good but variation in menu required.

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Location:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

AS, Buckinghamshire, stayed: October 2020

Overall Rating:

Location:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely Down Hall

Ayo A, Kent, stayed: October 2020

Besides driving on narrow country road; the hotel was in a perfect location. Surrounded by beautiful woodlands. For a hotel that grand, the reception area was poor.
Very pleasant and professional staff (special mention of amazing Ken). The food was good, services excellent. However, the room I stayed in looked tired and dated; let down by the pillows.
Overall, it is a good hotel; certainly for classy personalities.and those looking for relaxing breaks.

Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Location:

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again