Down Hall

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Member since 2011

Tier four

1 to 7 night stays
From £89 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £108 pppn
£89 per night for a 7 night stay
to £108 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Down Hall Reviews

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Down Hall

238 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Paul, east sussex, stayed: September 2021

You never know what you are going to find when you book blind. Down Hall was a wonderful surprise. A good bottle of champagne in the immaculately kept room. Friendly helpful service from both new and old staff. Very, very good food especially statrters. Great value for money. Disappointing lack of availability at the Spa to the point where one may question the title Spa Hotel. We will come again but only after booking the Spa contemporaneously. Thank you for a delightful break.

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Location:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

Mixed Feelings

Sue J, stayed: September 2021

We stayed at Down Hall overnight a long overdue Christmas present and we were really looking forward to our stay.
Positives first. Absolutely beautiful setting. The hotel sits in lovely grounds with great facilities such as tennis p tanque giant chess children s play area spa and lovely walks.We had a large spacious room overlooking gardens and fountain, in keeping with the style of the lovely house, although there could have been more tea/coffee on the hospitality tray.
Negatives. Although we had a 30 allowance towards dinner, as most mains were 30+ (except for pizza and pasta) the menu was on the expensive side if you wanted to enjoy 2/3 courses. My mum had steak which was 35 and sadly not very impressive.
Breakfast was very good but a bugbear with me is that the toast did not arrive until I was almost finished.
This was the first hotel we have stayed at since the COVID outbreak that had an open continental buffet and food wasn t brought directly from the kitchen. We did feel uncomfortable about this as the doors were open for ventilation and the food wasn t covered and there were lots of flies in the restaurant.
There is no longer a pool at Down Hall and there was a 20 charge to use the plunge pool.
We enjoyed our stay but the negatives definitely spoiled it and I do not think we would return

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Jackie, Essex, stayed: August 2021

Really enjoyed our stay at Down Hall. We will return for another relaxing break.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Location:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Room(s):

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

One night stay

DS, Hertfordshire, stayed: August 2021

My wife stayed for one night and wished we had made it 2 nights. It was very relaxing from the start to the end. Nothing was too much trouble from the staff. Outside grounds are amazing with nice walks. Thoroughly recommended place to stay. We will be back.

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Location:

Customer service:

  • Would stay here again

Honeymoon Let down

Alexandria, Essex, stayed: August 2021

Extremely disappointing - emailed a complaint and still no reply 2 weeks later.

Slow service, facilities not available as suggested when booking, canteen restaurant as noisy as heavy traffic, bank breaking prices and rooms in a desperate state of repair.

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Location:

Down hall

Craig B, Hertfordshire, stayed: August 2021

Wonderful hotel in a lovely location.
The room was lovely, lots of room, comfortable and clean
Food in the restaurant was first class.
Spa, lovely space, staff could of been a little more attentive and it could of been for longer. Down side to the spa, it was filthy dirty, both around the pool and in the changing facilities which was disappointing.
Staff overall were really good, all very friendly, senior staff were excellent, the junior staff were nice but very inexperienced and therefore didn t always deliver a level of service expected.

Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Spa:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Management

Alan S, Essex, stayed: August 2021

Management in the restaurant needs urgent review, restaurant isn t big enough for the hotel & wasn t told you need to book it on check in or you can t get in, the breakfast was a disaster, the young staff were great but I blame the management for not having it organised. That said it was booked for my wife s birthday & all in all it was good

Overall Rating:

Spa:

Customer service:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Down hall stay

JW, Hertfordshire, stayed: August 2021

The best thing about the hotel was the grounds which were vast and included woodland trail walks. In the woods we re brand new exercise apparatus. I never saw anyone when I was walking the trails. There are also croquet and badminton courts and extensive gardens. Our ground floor room was excellent, very large and comfortable.
There was evidence of staff shortages in the dining room especially at breakfast when the small buffet table became very crowded and they ran out of pastries, butter and other foods.
We enjoyed our stay despite poor weather but we re surprised to learn that the hotel had not been closed as were told when out initial booking was cancelled and then moved forward. Again I suspect staff shortages were the cause.

Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

  • Would stay here again