Ednam House

A stunning Georgian Mansion located on the banks of the River Tweed

Member since 2016

From £79.93 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £152.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Ednam House Reviews

Kelso, Roxburghshire, Scotland, TD5 7HT

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Ednam House

26 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Lovely Break

Anon, stayed: March 2024

Staff very welcoming. Lovely Relaxing break. Very good bedrooms and public areas. Would recommend staying here.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Comfortable but tired!

Anon, stayed: August 2023

This is a beautiful old country house that is in need of refurbishment.
Despite that rooms are comfortable and spacious.
The restaurant in the evening served high quality food from local producers. It was slightly overpriced but the setting is lovely overlooking the river.
Breakfast was a different story sadly! Mostly it was chaotic with shortages of all things on the buffet! Staff were running round crazy to meet these demands and tables were not cleared in a timely fashion. The staff were inadequately trained and even swore when they dropped a knife in a room with young children present. As a result we wouldn t return!



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: June 2023

Over priced , certainly not 4 star that we were anticipating . AA rated it as 3 star . Very disappointed generally !!


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your review.

We would like to clarify we do not advertise this hotel as 4 star, therefore, we are not sure why this comment has been made.  Their sister hotels are, this is due to them having Spa facilties.

Kind regards,

Off Peak Luxury


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Wonderful position by the Tweed - pity about the food

Martin C, Essex, stayed: May 2023

This is an old house by the Tweed and our room had a splendid view of the river. Close to the abbey.
The downside was the restaurant. The menu was limited and meal we had rather dull. After the first evening we eat out. Even the full breakfast (something that no-one should ever get wrong) was unappetizing - neither the sausage nor the haggis were appetising and the porridge was heavy.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Guerin T, Finist re, stayed: May 2023


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Disappointment!

SP Stirling, stayed: April 2023

Hotel staff and even the artisans were knowledgeable and friendly. Hotel was well appointed. But, our room had a soiled carpet, the extractor in the bathroom and the towel rail did not work and the shower control was temperamental. Also, the window would not stay open. The Breakfast was excellent on all mornings but the Dinner was disappointing; cold food on cold plates! No excuse! So near but so far! Should not take much effort or expense to get it great!



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

GE, Northumberland, stayed: September 2022


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: September 2022


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again