Hatton Court Reviews
- 303 reviews
- Member since 2008
Upton St Leonards, Gloucester, GL4 8DE
A little disappointed
The hotel receptionists and restaurant staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful.
The room that we were allocated was an executive room, but we found it to be tired and drab. We asked if there were any rooms with walk in showers and the receptionist showed us to a room with a very small walk in shower and a double bed when the previous one was a king size. She also showed us a room with a large round bath and an extremely ancient looking shower over the top. We decided to opt for the room with the tiny shower, which was adequate for our stay.
We dined in the restaurant on the first evening, and ordered two Tornedos Rossini's at 30 each. I have never had such a small steak for such a large price and found it disappointing compared to the ones that we have had at other restaurants. On another night we had lambs liver which was delicious. Mikey the restaurant manager is great and is a big asset to the hotel. The drinks in the bar are very expensive with a large glass of wine costing 11!
On the whole we enjoyed our stay, but would not return. The hotel needs some TLC to bring it up to scratch.
We enjoyed our stay but the superior double jacuzzi room was more like a standard double. Poor view and the bathroom was very dated. We also waited 45 minutes before our evening meal arrived we was offered a bottle of wine for the delay, we would like a nicer room with a better view next time.
There were a multitude of issues with the room and cleanliness.
Discussed with the manager whom Said i would have a response from the owner but nothing received, overall a lot of money for a poor stay.
Four star hotel let down by two star restaurant
A warm and welcoming hotel with delightful staff and a very comfortable room. Excellent breakfasts.
Sadly on the two nights we stayed we had very disappointing evening meals in the restaurant. This feeling was echoed by other guests eating close to our table. The starters took a long time to appear and my 'avocado, beetroot and feta salad' was devoid of any avocado. It had plenty of cucumber and raw onion instead! Our main courses were also poorly cooked - my husband's calves liver in particular. We tried again on the second evening. Service was better but food below standard expected. My husband's beef, my chicken and our neighbouring table's meat courses all came with the same dark brown 'jus'. We understand the head chef was absent on both evenings, but this should not be an excuse for poor food. This lovely hotel was let down by the food in our opinion.
Fantastic stay from start to finish, staff attentive, food and accommodation excellent thank you
Lovely stay in Gloucestershire
This was our second stay at Hatton Court and we were not disappointed!! This is a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms, great food and an excellent staff team - I'm sure we will be back again!!
Excellent Staff. Good Hotel. Good Value for Money.
The Staff at this hotel are friendly and efficient and went out of their way to help. The room was ok but the corner batth was not easy for the more senior of citizens to get in and out of. The over bath shower with no curtain or screen meant that great care has to be taken that water didn t go everywhere.
The restaurant serves a good breakfast. The first night dinner was ok. We subsequently found out due to a rush the kitchen was low on supplies. Dinner the second night was excellent.
As an Electric Vehicle owner I was please to find an outdoor socket was available for charging as members of the senior staff had EV s. I think they should advertise it in their literature and if possible improve those facilities which would attract more customers with electric vehicles.