Lumley Castle

Luxury castle hotel near Durham

Member since April 2021

1 to 7 night stays
From £103 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £113 pppn
£103 per night for a 7 night stay
to £113 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Lumley Castle Reviews

Chester-Le-Street, DH3 4NX

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lumley Castle

18 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

EC, Tyne and Wear, stayed: October 2021

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

lumley castle

Derek, Cheshire, stayed: October 2021

highly recomended for a weekend break

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Weekend in Durham

Alan M, Lancs, stayed: October 2021

We really enjoyed our stay despite having to cut it short for personal reasons. The room was pleasant and our dinner in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was also above average although we did have to eat at 7.45 due to the restaurant being busy at later times.
There are lots of places to visit from the hotel: Durham city, Beamish and the Coast which is close by.
Definitely worth a revisit.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

2 Night stay

SH, Staffordshire, stayed: October 2021

Lovely setting and building, overall everything was ok, rooms very tired, (courtyard room ground floor) understand it s a castle 600 years old but the rooms look like they could do with an major overall. Restaurant food was good but service was very slow at breakfast first day (second day was perfect but had mentioned delays on leaving day before). Staff were good but did look they were stretched, maybe the functions that were on caused under staffing in other areas. Would stay again

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Michael, stayed: October 2021

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Geoffrey H, West Midlands, stayed: October 2021

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lovely Lumley

GB, Hampshire, stayed: October 2021

Great stay in a real 14th century castle. Excellent evening meals and breakfasts. Room in the courtyard was very comfortable, with welcome bubbly and chocolates provided. The only improvement I could suggest to an already excellent hotel, would be to have available a guided tour of the castle, as it seemed so interesting and grounded in history.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely place to stay

BH, South Yorkshire, stayed: October 2021

We had a lovely stay at Lumley Castle. We enjoyed looking around the castle, both internally and externally. People who stay need to remember to book a table in the restaurant and book a time for breakfast too as the restaurant has limited availability. We knew about the need to book the evening meal but not breakfast, however, we managed to book a time nevertheless. We had Prosecco and chocolates in our room on arrival (pre-booked) which was really nice and made the stay extra special. There were two weddings being held during our stay but it wasn t at all disruptive and didn t affect our stay at all. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. We would highly recommend the castle and would definitely stay again.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again