Lumley Castle

Luxury castle hotel near Durham

Member since 2021

From £89 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £125.72 pppn for a 7 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Lumley Castle Reviews

Chester-Le-Street, DH3 4NX

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lumley Castle

107 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Anon, stayed: February 2024

We had a lovely time and everything was perfect
Delicious meals, very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble and wonderfully comfortable beds



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: February 2024

Can t move shadow from screen



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: February 2024

Would not be inclined to book with you again. There was nothing about the stay that was luxurious.
Most dishes were overcooked; the exception was breakfast waffles which were excellent. The motel type room was in the car park which was not well lighted at night. We had to cross the car park and walk through reception to the garden and from there to the restaurant or bar. Seating at the bar was not comfortable nor was the lounge. Housekeeping kept us waiting for our room on both days.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

relaxing break

Graham, South Yorkshire, stayed: January 2024

Impressive first sight of the castle, although unclear where to park initially was soon able to locate it. Reception area really atmospheric and staff helpful when checking in. Room in the castle itself was excellent, although later found the coffee maker was faulty and could not use it, the taps in the bath took an age to fill up the bath (although guess this is to be expected for a building of this age), other than that the room was brilliant with a grand 4 poster bed etc. Food in the restaurant was to die for, and the breakfast buffet plentiful and varied with a cooked option too. Location was great, had a lovely walk along the river in the woods, very relaxing and enjoyable will no doubt be back.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Anon, stayed: December 2023


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

A welcome winter break

Celia T, stayed: December 2023

The castle is so welcoming. staff were attentive and friendly but didn't "hover "
Food was of a very high standard and portion sizes were good.
I would highly recommend a stay.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

1st class hotel but not in winter.

Susan L, Yorkshire, stayed: December 2023

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with some friends except for one exception, the restaurant and bar/lounge areas were freezing. We and most other guests were sat in the restaurant for dinner having to wear thick jumpers etc. It was the same for breakfast, very cold. We have stayed here before and will stay again but not in winter.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

60th Birthday Castle retreat

Chris & Anne, Greetland, West Yorks, stayed: November 2023

Fantastic stay from start to finish.
The room was a real treat with a four poster bed & narniaesque bathroom hidden through the wardrobe.
Prosecco & chocolates in the room on arrival was welcoming, with plenty of other little treats, chocolate, crisps, biscuits & plenty of tea, coffee etc.
The restaurant felt intimate with just the right amount of subdued lighting & the service was professional but friendly. The food was excellent.
The Castle had a real medieval feel with it's many original features but also the addition of modern day facilities.
The only criticism was the high price of the alcohol in both the bar & restaurant but as it was a special 60th birthday for Anne, we splashed out.
Would highly tecommend.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again