Merewood Country House

Renowned country hotel overlooking Lake Windermere

Member since 2016

Tier three

From £82 pppn for a 1 night stay
to £125 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Merewood Country House Reviews

Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LH

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Merewood Country House

63 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Very enjoyable stay

Linda, Lancashire, stayed: April 2024

A lovely overnight stay bought as a gift,albeit we have been many times before .
The room was quite disappointing,no view -only of the back sheds /old out buildings,no offer of upgrade or late check out.Dinner was good ,breakfast satisfactory.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Highly recommended

JP, Northamptonshire, stayed: March 2024

Really beautiful, rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you needed for a luxurious stay. Lovely finishing touches that made you feel they really care about their guests. As soon as you walk into the hotel you felt relaxed and was very cozy. Great location for walking. Would definitely book again a really high quality hotel in every aspect.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Good short break

John C, Leicestershire, stayed: January 2024

Ignoring the weather (2 storms and visited in Jan.) we had a voucher for our 50th wedding anniversary
Great location, friendly staff, room OK if a bit small. Restaurant and food fine.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Autumn stay

RR, Lancashire, stayed: September 2023

As usual everything was fabulous. I would definitely recommend this hotel!



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Poor service all round

Anon, stayed: August 2023

We checked in early, the room was very small and an upgrade was not available even though the hotel was far from full. The restaurant meals were mediocre for the four stars it was meant to be. The main courses were badly cooked and presented. The breakfast was adequate but over cooked.



Merewood Country House says...

I am sorry to read your comments for your stay with us here at the Merewood.

None of the rooms in our hotel are 'small' but I am sorry the room didn't meet your expectations.

I must strongly contest your comments about the food being 'badly cooked'. Clearly this is a subjective comment. We have received plenty of awards for our food and currently have 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellent. I am sorry that it might not be to your liking however.

Here at the Merewood we feel as though we are welcoming guests into our own home and on the occasion that we get something wrong, it is always a shame to hear and we must learn where possible. On some occasions sadly it seems that there is little that we could have done to change your mind.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Overnightstay

Anon, stayed: July 2023

On arrival. receptionist was helpful and friendly.
The room was clean and adequate but very cramped
Dinner was good, though not quite gourmet
Situation of the hotel was excellent with turning views



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Easter overnight stay

Cheryl, Tyne and Wear, stayed: April 2023

Myself, husband and little boy had a wonderful overnight stay at merewood last week, the evening meal was amazing and it s in a fab spot for walking down to brockhole. We will definitely be back thank you for making our stay so relaxing. Everything has improved 100% since our last stay A couple of years ago.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

A Great Getaway

Michaila, Tyne And Wear, stayed: April 2023

This is the second time i have been to this beautiful hotel and I was not disappointed. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and setting. The Afternoon Tea is a must. The restaurant is excellent. I will definitely be returning again.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again