Rosslea Hall Hotel

Charming seafront country house in Rhu nr Loch Lomond

Member since March 2023

From £59.22 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £104 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Rosslea Hall Hotel Reviews

Rhu, Helensburgh, G84 8NF

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Rosslea Hall Hotel

14 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

No us in the Dining Room.

Anon, stayed: April 2024


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Far from Luxurious

FH, Surrey, stayed: February 2024

After staying in a couple of other hotels from your website - there was no comparison. Unfortunately it was more like a Travelodge, stains on curtains, discoloured paint on ceiling etc etc



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

Not a great experience

Anon, stayed: January 2024

We struggled to find the hotel firstly, as nothing but the restaurant (which is under a different name) is signposted. We checked in quite quickly and were told that we should come back down for dinner quickly, even though our reservation wasn t for another half an hour, as the kitchen will be closing soon. The room was extremely dated, with a view of the car park, and definitely didn t include the free room upgrade that came with our package - not the relaxing country break we had envisioned.

Our booking included a two course meal and welcome drink, so we were excited for dinner. The restaurant was completely silent, which created an incredibly awkward atmosphere, with one girl serving all tables. The food was mediocre, but the girl serving was polite as clearly doing her best.

We could hear other guests coming down to complain at reception, as the restaurant is silent, about the fact there wasn t any hot water. We had not been told this was the case but the lady at reception said they were aware and had rung to solve it and there was nothing else she can do . This has clearly been going on for a few hours but the team failed to tell us when checking in. We remained without hot water until checking out the following morning, with no apology or update given.

We have used Country Hotel Breaks for other offers and had a great experience at those, however this package was completely different, with hardly any of the things included even being offered to us. We are shocked this venue has 4 stars from the Scottish Tourist, unless there is a completely different section / room selection / restaurant within the hotel that we didn t experience.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

NO HOT WATER

Anon, stayed: November 2023

DISAPPOINTED that we were not pre-warned of no hot water, which upon arrival were told itcwas expected ti be fixed that day and had been off since the day before, but then learning it had actually been off longer.

Public areas lacking ambience and character.

Staff were very affable and friendly.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your review.

We have contacted the hotel to investigate this further, they advised that engineers were booked to come out and fix the hot water, this is why you were not pre-warned. Unfortunately, out of the hotels control, the engineers did not turn up.

The hotel advised us they apologised and gave you complimentary dinner the next night by way of compensation and that you didn't mention you were unhappy during your stay.

They are sorry you didn't like the public areas, but they are pleased to note your feedback on the staff, which they pride ourselves on. 

Kind regards,

Country Hotel Breaks


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Weekend break

Anon, stayed: October 2023

Lovely warm welcome,comfortable room,great food served by lovely girls. Only fault dog barking in next room at 10pm,reported to staff soon quitened,next morning a wet carpet in hallway really not very nice.Not everyone likes dogs.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent. Staff friendly

Thomas L, Lanarkshire, stayed: October 2023

we enjoyed our stay and thought good value for money. We were celebrating my wife's 87 birthday.
We enjoyed the countryside. Good location. We will be back in the summer.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Overnight stay

Graeme, Glasgow, stayed: October 2023

I was given a voucher for an overnight stay and chose rosslea hotel. We normally choose a hotel with leisure facilities but weren't too bothered as dinner was included in the deal.
Location was lovely and only 5 minutes from main Helensburgh town.
Hotel itself is a little dated and could do with some modernization.
Restaurant was quiet with great views of the firth of clyde. New menu provided great choice and the food we ordered was great. Breakfast provided, again, great choice and was was made to order.
Staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome, top marks to them all. 10/10
Due to the hotel needing some upgrading I would give it 8/10.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Friendly staff and great location

Stephanie, Lanarkshire, stayed: September 2023

We enjoyed a relaxing overnight stay at the hotel. We had a sea view and during our stay the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a bit shabby but the bed was large and comfortable. The dining room was nice and there was a good variety of dishes on offer.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again