Stoke Place

Stylish luxury country hotel in Buckinghamshire

Member since 2012

Tier four

From £81.50 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £162.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Stoke Place Reviews

Buckinghamshire, SL2 4HT

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Stoke Place

40 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Terrible rooms and not very helpful reception.

JG, []- Please Select []-, stayed: May 2024

We were assigned a Garden Room - Avoid these rooms. Our room was dreadful for both us and our friends; suggestion was an upgrade to a Junior Suite was possible, this did not happen due to them being full. We have our doubts in view of the carpark nearly empty and the restaurant also had many available tables. The Garden Rooms were not fit for purpose; they had mould on the walls, mould on the tiles to the bathroom, floor was filthy and covered walkway outside the Garden Room's was clearly in need of repair - looked like it was about to collapse. Further, no lighting from the main building to the Garden Room's which is a safety issue. Our booking included Champagne in the room - not present and needed to ask for it to be delivered. Also included in our booking was an evening meal, alas we had to explain this at dinner. All adding to a very bad experience. But on the plus side the food was very very good. No point in adding further criticism. Note to Hotel owners - you have a fabulous setting, a beautiful building and outlook - treat it to a lick of paint, do the necessary safety related repairs, carryout refurbishing the threadbare furnishings and you will have a happier clientel.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

James

Anon, stayed: November 2023

Room was very poor quality; mouldy shower, mouldy ceiling in shower, paint flaking off walls in bathroom, very worn/tired decor throughout, TV didn't work properly, no hot water, next to noisy road with single glazing, rats outside room looking to eat from a plate that had been left outside.

We were given a room away from the main hotel, which obviously I'd suggest other people don't do. Our experience may have been better if we'd have been put in the main hotel.

We didn't stay the night and thankfully the hotel was very amenable in giving us a full refund



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Very disappointed

KN, Warwickshire, stayed: June 2023

Cottage room not fit for purpose. Was willing to change, however was told fully booked. Room was dark, damp and certainly needs renovation. Window blinds dirty and mildewed. Air conditioning broken, requested attention, no action taken. Rainwater running down internal walls close to electrics.
Lights missing in bathroom, both sinks had no plugs in place. Blinds in bathroom broken. Not enough plug points, bedside lights missing. Room and bathroom furniture needs replacing.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Looked amazing but hotel in need of tlc

MP, West Sussex, stayed: May 2023

Venue and outside lovely
No champagne as offered eventually got x2 bottles of cheap unpalatable Prosecco
No petite fours as advertised with post dinner coffee . Had to ask.
Room had broken sash window and couldn t keep it open . Had to use a book , very hot .
Chipped bathroom fittings and no bedside light in one side .
No room biscuits poor tea/coffee choice
Room had views of the beautiful lake / garden but the hotel needs a spruce up and more attention to detail.
Having to ask for complementary items is awful , and what hotel runs out of champagne , if the cheap version wasn t available they should have given us the next best not cheap Prosecco .
Not the anniversary celebration we hoped .
The staff were all lovely and even gave us a packed breakfast as we had an early getaway , but I think they are doing a great job esp the cocktail bar man !!



Stoke Place says...

Dear guest
Thank you for reviewing Stoke Place
I was extremely saddened to see you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. I have passed on your feedback to the team to see and action. Thank you for the lovely words regarding the team. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Terry

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Great stay, needs a re-furb

J+J, Cambs, stayed: February 2023

Two night deal booked that included one evening meal, Champagne and upgrade if available. We substituted the champagne for an afternoon tea which was great.
We had been allocated an upgrade before arriving, the room was the Queen Ann Suite. The room was huge, warm (on a freezing day) with a massive comfy bed and a fantastic view of the back and lake.The bathroom had a roll top bath, large shower, double basin, it was very clean needed a major refurb. It needed painting, there was a large water/rotten area under the sinks, cracked tiles in the bathroom, bed creaked even when you sat on it, it was a large room but the decor was very dark and drab.
However; that can be all forgiven as the staff were amazing, they are a credit to the hotel; so welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing.
Would love to return in a few years to see if they have spruced it up a bit



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely Birthday for 2 Stay

BB, Essex, stayed: November 2022

Staff lovely & helpful, food delicious!
Hotel could do with some updating though.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Wonderfully indulgent!

Estella, Kent, stayed: October 2022

We were made so welcome at Stoke Place. Our Junior Suite upgrade was truly beautiful. The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the restaurant on both nights of our stay and would visit again in a heartbeat if we got the chance.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Disappointing

AM, Oxfordshire, stayed: October 2022

Booked the gate house and quickly asked for a room change due to noise from the road and generally dull decor. Next room was better but the electrics failed which led to the toilet backfilling with sewage! Couldn't wash, brush teeth for fear it would overflow. Called reception who responded with, 'I'll let maintenance know'

Dinner was good, restaurant staff helpful.

Setting is lovely but didn't make up for the disappointing experience. Overall, disappointing.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: