Taplow House Hotel

Elegant 4* luxury country hotel near London

Member since 2017

Tier four

From £95 pppn for a 12 night stay
to £150 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Taplow House Hotel Reviews

Taplow, Buckinghamshire, SL6 0DA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Taplow House Hotel

127 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Lounging in Luxury

JW, Kent, stayed: May 2024

We had a wonderful weekend stay at Taplow. The staff were brilliant especially the reception manager who was very helpful when I needed to change our duvet due to my allergies. The spa is beautiful and I loved the hot outdoor whirlpool. Everything was exceptionally clean.
It was amazing to feel like we were the Lord and Lady of a luxury home and garden. A wonderful time of relaxation from my stressful job. Highly recommended.
If there are any improvements to be made, although the food was very tasty, the menu is limited and some options were not available when we stayed. This is fine for a couple of days but a wider selection would be better for a longer stay.
We appreciate that the decor is meant to be in keeping with the age of property however our bed base was fraying and the sink had been broken. I am sure this will be rectified in routine maintenance.



Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Spa:

Value for money:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Matthew, Worcestershire, stayed: May 2024


Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Spa:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Good in parts

LB, Essex, stayed: April 2024

In our package we should have received Prosecco & chocolates in the room. Did NOT receive them. Had to ask for the Prosecco when in the bar. Bar staff put other guests drinks on our bill !!!! Price list in bar did not reflect the 12.5% service charge added to every transaction. This information was only evident in the terms & conditions. Food was of excellent quality, but at breakfast cooked dishes were the ONLY options. There were NO yogurts, NO fruit, NO cereals. I found this really unusual. The room was very comfortable, but the bathroom had some minor problems. Wash basin taps were very difficult to turn off. Bath had had some filler on the surface.Hot tap insert missing on wash basin. The final bill had several discrepancies, which had to be resolved on departure.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

Do not recommend

Roisin, Hertfordshire, stayed: April 2024

Restaurant is basic. Spa is appalling - the jacuzzi pool feels full when there s half a dozen people in it. My friend and I booked the same treatment and had vastly different experiences which is concerning. They were 15 minutes late for her facial and the staff found it hilarious for some reason. Spent most of our time attempting to find staff to order drinks or food/chasing orders. A really bad experience and seriously think Country Hotel Breaks should reconsider advertising this hotel.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback, we will take this on board and monitior future reviews.

Kind regards,

Country Hotel Breaks


Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Value for money:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Location:

Not a good experience

Anon, stayed: April 2024

Hotel and the grounds are pleasant.
Had booked a package deal for one night in an executive room, with a glass of bubbly upon arrival and a 3 course meal included and a late check out Well, when checking in, there was no glass of bubbly. The lady who checked us in told us that check out was at 11am rather than 12.30pm. Had to tell her to pay attention to the details of the booking.
The restaurant food was very poor which we complained about and decided to get uber eats delivery instead. The next morning receieved a bill which was not included as part of the 3 course meal package. But nobody had communicated this to us. Had to complain to have these items removed. Still ended up paying foe service charge for the meals we didn't eat.

Overall a very poor experience, would never come back.



Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:

Room(s):

Lovely location, but internal decoration needs attention

Anon - Channel Islands, stayed: April 2024

Beautiful location with very pleasant and helpful staff, although at times there was no one around to order tea/coffee or drinks. Our room, was large and had a wonderful view over the garden, however it was sadly in need of refurbishment. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the walk in shower was great. Both the breakfast & afternoon tea were lovely, but dinner was disappointing. We probably wouldn't stay again.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Spa:

Location:

Wonderful quiet break with my wife.

Anthony, ON, stayed: March 2024

Lovely Hotel, friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed the chocolates, Prosecco, Sauna and hot tub in the open air, excellent three course dinner and late check out.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Spa:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Pleasant hotel with excellent staff.

SN, Surrey, stayed: March 2024

A pleasant hotel which has recently been refurbished to a high standard. The staff are excellent and are the best advertisement for the hotel. The deluxe room was quite small and although adequate did not fit the description of deluxe. The restaurant was very pleasant and the food was very good . A greater range of choice for the mains would have made it excellent. Overall the spa did not seem to exist. The hydotherapy pool was out of use. Thanks to country hotels for letting us know. A pleasant stay in an interesting part of the country.



Overall Rating:

Spa:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again