Taplow House Hotel

Elegant 4* luxury country hotel near London

Member since 2017

Tier four

From £95 pppn for a 12 night stay
to £150 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Taplow House Hotel Reviews

Taplow, Buckinghamshire, SL6 0DA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Taplow House Hotel

118 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

A night away some us time

Dean, Surrey, stayed: February 2019

From arrival our impression of seeing the building and grounds to when we walked into the main entrance was all positive and we felt relaxed from the outset.

Checking in we were greeted by a real smile and a professional process which involved the lady taking us up to our room.

The room was splendid, well laid out and a bottle of champagne and individual chocolates were laid out for us.

We went to the bar which was cosy and friendly but not well stocked ordered a couple of drinks then went into the dining room and ordered the meal.

Food was well presented and tasted nice service was efficient and nice.

All in all a wonderful experience and will be going back



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

To shabby to be luxurious

Anon, stayed: December 2018

Although the setting was excellent the room badly need some love, gaffer taping the carpet together can't be the answer.

The restaurant was ok but my vegetarian partner was served pork in her garden salad.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

Heathrow collection and overnight stay

John K, Staffordshire, stayed: October 2018

I collected my partner after a long-haul flight, needing an overnight rest before onward travel. This was our first stay at Taplow House and it met all of our expectations.
It was only a short journey from the airport but felt very rural in its own grounds. The staff were very welcoming and room was comfortable.
We were most impressed by the quality of our evening meal, this was well above what we expected and for this reason alone we are going to return whenever we need to stay in the area.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Lovely weekend break

Kerry C, Powys, stayed: September 2018

Lovely stay while visiting Windsor. Lovely grounds and good customer service. The restaurant was very good and a generous breakfast too.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Enjoyable stay at Taplow House Hotel

AY, Kent, stayed: August 2018

We stayed at Taplow House Hotel for one night, following a walking holiday.
We really enjoyed our stay - all the staff we met were friendly, helpful and attentive, the room was comfortable with a lovely view over the grounds, and the restaurant evening meal was exceptional. It was nice to have good-looking, solid wood furniture in the bedroom, and a glamourous art-deco style en-suite bathroom.
The ambience of the hotel was sophisticated and unhurried; a great place to unwind!



Overall Rating:

Location:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

SB, Nottinghamshire, stayed: August 2018

Overall, a very pleasant 3 day break. Very comfortable room and the dining room and food were superb.

Just a couple of issues. The shower screen over the bath couldn't be moved and consequently made movement very dangerous slipping on the floor when coming out of the bath. (Clivedon room).  The other issue is the lack of a lift but that might be because Taplow House is listed and no building works can be undertaken.

Apart from these minor issues, we would be happy to return



Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Location:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Rooms at the hotel

Anon, stayed: July 2018

The staff were very good and helpful. Our rooms however were not a 4 star standard. Even though I am under 5 foot tall I had to stoop when I got out of bed, the bed was only a small double and up over 40 stairs. Our son and daughter in law was again a small bed and cramped with a cot for their small daughter.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Hidden gem for Ascot week

Wendy, Cambridgeshire, stayed: June 2018

This hotel was an excellent choice and we thought it was very good value for money. Very quiet location, uninterrupted nights' sleep. We were there for two nights Ascot week and felt very relaxed afterwards. The food was so good we asked to thank the chef personally. Restaurant manager was very knowledgeable about the wines on offer and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Beds and linen all good quality. Rooms with garden lawn views are probably more light filled. We will definitely return.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Location:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again