Taplow House Hotel

Elegant 4* luxury country hotel near London

Member since 2017

Tier four

From £95.84 pppn for a 12 night stay
to £157.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Taplow House Hotel Reviews

Taplow, Buckinghamshire, SL6 0DA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Spa:

Location:

Value for money:

Taplow House Hotel

103 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Tom, stayed: September 2021


Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Room(s):

Customer service:

Value for money:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

David, East Sussex, stayed: September 2021

On arrival we were placed in a smallish room with a 4'6"" bed - "too small", my wife exclaimed!
On seeing the 'man on the desk' a short while later we were escorted to the Windsor Suite which was perfect in all respects.
The Restaurant was pleasant enough, but the service could be haphazard - being very prompt or tiringly slow; the food was 'ok' on the Sunday evening, however we were surprised to see the same (rather limited) Menu on the Monday evening.
A fine location, stair carpets need daily hoovering, some interior and certainly exterior decoration would make for a better initial impression.
We enjoyed our visit overall.



Overall Rating:

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Location:

Customer service:

Room(s):

  • Would stay here again

3 night break

FJ, Lancashire, stayed: September 2021

Hotel is well situated for a number of sightseeing destinations but is in a quiet peaceful location.
It is comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, food in the restaurant was the best we have had in any hotel.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Not Value for Money

FS, Northamptonshire, stayed: September 2021

This was to celebrate my wife's special birthday and was the most I have ever paid for a hotel overnight stay. On arrival we were met with a building which looks a bit tired and dated. We walked to reception from our car and were stood waiting to be attended to, even though a couple of staff members walked by. Once we were booked in we were very disappointed with a room that had obvious marks on every wall, and carpet, added to which the skirting boards were also scuffed and marked. The sash window did not fit correctly, and when opened the noise I thought was the room A/C got remarkably louder as it was from some sort of electrical equipment right under the window, so we we had a continuous hum all the time we were there, in addition the view was of the drive and front entrance, which for a 200 plus room was poor. One of the lamps was positioned at a jaunty angle and on closer inspection it turned out that the fitting holding the bulb was broken where it joined the actual lamp stand, probably only staying place due to the flex being clamped. The small tables themselves had metal corner protectors which were coming away and were quite sharp, so could be quite dangerous, particularly if a young child were to be in that room. In the bathroom the shelf above the sink had been replaced, and I could tell because the old holes had been filled with grey filler which stands out on the white tiles, also the new, smaller, shelf had not been fitted correctly so was slightly loose and you could see the red rawlplugs behind it and the sink drainer was almost completely covered in rust.
I understand the current staff have not been there long as it has just been taken over and they were very pleasant and helpful, however there were not many of them and there were times when service was slow, particularly at breakfast. The member of staff who took our order at both the evening meal and breakfast did not use an order pad, and as a result the order was incorrect, as my wife's breakfast came with fried bread rather than hash browns, and despite offering pastries at breakfast they only had croissants left after 09:30.
I thought the drinks were a tad expensive, but then there was a service charge added when getting drinks at the bar, which I did not understand.
Some of the issues I have mentioned I would normally overlook in isolated cases, but given there were so many, and the fact the room was, for me, very expensive I spoke to the receptionist, and when we booked out he waived the surcharge bill, which we were grateful for, however I did point out that, in my opinion, the room and experience was not worth the premium price point for the room we were given.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Value for money:

Location:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

Taplow Stay

Tony, Cambridgeshire, stayed: September 2021

It was a welcome surprise: a beautiful Hotel with friendly staff. While our room was slightly small it suited our needs and compensated with an excellent meal in the restaurant followed in the morning with a tasty breakfast.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel and we will look to stay again in 2022.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Room(s):

Location:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again

Relaxing break in beautiful surroundings

CH, Surrey, stayed: September 2021

A fantastic 3 night break in a luxury hotel which certainly can boast value for money . The staff were friendly and polite and were very conscientious to the needs and welfare of their visitors. With 2 adults and 1 dog to cater for the hotel, stafff, accommodation, food and grounds certainly made for an enjoyable stay which we will certainly repeat. Our only regret was not upgrading to deluxe or higher.



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Relaxing Stay

Philip, Leicestershire, stayed: September 2021

Stayed two nights for my wife's birthday. Very relaxing and quiet hotel. General Manager exceptionally friendly and helpful. Hotel in a central position for Windsor and Henley on Thames.



Overall Rating:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

  • Would stay here again

Fantastic stay, friendly staff and would recommend this hotel for its excellent cuisine and ambience

Ben W, Essex, stayed: August 2021

Just quality



Overall Rating:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

Customer service:

Restaurant:

  • Would stay here again