Taplow House Hotel

Elegant 4* luxury country hotel near London

Member since 2017

Tier four

1 to 14 night stays
From £83 pppn for a 14 night stay
to £113 pppn
£83 per night for a 14 night stay
to £113 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Taplow House Hotel Reviews

Taplow, Buckinghamshire, SL6 0DA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Taplow House Hotel

92 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds

SB, Hampshire, stayed: July 2021

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked special deal with free bottle of champagne in our room on arrival and free 3 course meal in restaurant on first night. Included breakfast and late check out too so good value for money, we also had a Country House Hotel gift voucher to spend so even better. Our only criticism was some aspects of room service as we had to ring down for replenishment of tea, coffee and toilet roll.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

dmgarden

MG, Surrey, stayed: July 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Beautiful place

Anon, stayed: July 2021

We stayed here for 3 nights last week (13th-15th July) in junior suite which was lovely but on the third floor and no lift. As we are a mature couple and my husband had recently been in hospital with a serious heart condition - it wasn't the best. We should have asked to be moved before staying the first night but dont like to cause problems. When we mentioned it on the second night, the staff were very helpful trying to find a room on a lower floor but there were none available until the next morning. As this meant there was only one night left, we decided not to bother but have to say the staff were wonderful. The food in the restaurant was first class but very limited choice so we only ate there the first night but it was excellent. Wine was a little expensive. All in all, we did have a lovely time. Thank you to all the staff.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Pleasant Stay

EN, Hampshire, stayed: July 2021

Nice characteristic hotel in lovely grounds. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room clean but difficult to get out of shower in bath as right next to WC.
Good food, only criticism is restaurant lacks ambience, felt rather uncomfortable having a conversation at the table in the evening.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Fell short of our expectations! Definitely Not 4 stars!

ML, GB, stayed: July 2021

Booked a junior deluxe suite at Taplow House as a 4 star luxurious retreat for our 20th wedding anniversary.

Prior to arrival we received a general hotel policy list including screens at the reception desk, sanitiser stations and a protection kit with various PPE inside. None of this was present! Our package included a bottle of champagne in our room, a three course meal that evening and the expected items in the room such as dressing gowns, towels, tea/coffee etc etc.

On arrival at the hotel the receptionist listed out what our package included in the public foyer. To be honest I thought this unprofessional as why should any of the other guests know any of this?! The receptionist then wanted my to provide my card details to take payment for the package. I explained this had already been paid and I was informed they had no record of getting this cleared up we went to our room.

Initial appearance was good, large room, with four poster bed and en-suite, with the champagne on ice! Surprised to see the decorative cushions on the bed and chairs, which we were told would not be in the room due to the pandemic, but thought it looked good. Then we looked closer.

Expectations are the room being cleaned right? Well, cobwebs on the windows, which included dead insects and a dead spider! Marks over the wall paper, dirt on the carpet, cushions and curtains suggested otherwise. The room needed redecorating completely, with some of the wall paper suffering damp stains and the coving not being repainted where the damp had come in. The sockets were not on straight either but worst of all, the socket for the TV was loose, like hanging off the wall and right next to it was a hole where it used to be, covered with some cardboard. Not sure of the latest electrical guidelines, but guessing this isn't in it!!
Not wanting to spoil our weekend away we decided to make the most of it and enjoy ourselves. The food in the restaurant was really nice, but there must have been some issue with the staff, as the concierge was not on his post, but taking orders on both nights of our stay. One of the waiters was wearing a face mask on his chin, as he served our food, which clearly did not have the desired effect of its use. Another couple did actually challenge him about this and he just laughed, which just showed his professionalism.
For some reason we had to ask for coffee, sugar, milk and mugs several times as this was never replaced; on one occasion a cleaner came into our room, whilst we were there and took our mugs and never came back!
During breakfast we overheard other guests complaining about having no hot water, water leaking into their room and only have hand towels to dry with. On the day we were checking out, we were the first to arrive for breakfast and were seated with our order taken. Several other parties arrived over the next 10 minutes, ordered and received their food before us. When the 5th party received they're food I did ask if we would be getting ours and the look of confusion filled me with confidence as they realised they had forgotten us. The waitress, which up to this point was actually very good, did apologise and asked if the food was okay. I explained that despite it being late and the toast was also missing it was okay. She stated that she would go and get me some and I told her not to worry as I'd nearly finished now anyway and it was too late. Approximately 5 minutes later she arrives with the toast I no longer wanted.

Like everyone else it's been a hard and long period during the pandemic, throughout which both my wife and I have been lucky enough to work through it all; My wife being a staff nurse of which we're all proud. This was supposed to be a luxurious break for her and being aware that the hospitality sector has been hit hard I would have expected the service to be of its best standard, if nothing else to attract return custom and forward positive reviews. I would expect that during this long period of closure, that at least they could have decorated the deluxe suite.

On passing on our comments of disappointment to the receptionist at our departure, we were assured that the decorating is something they will be attending to and our comments would be brought up in the managers meeting and addressed. The couple before us were also promised the same as they made a long list of complaints too. As yet we've heard nothing as a response.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

An excellent short staycation

Anon, stayed: June 2021

Our recent stay was memorable; an elegant hotel in beautiful grounds. The dining room is gorgeous and lovely to still have white damask tablecloths and superb wine glasses!
Suggestions for a couple of minor improvements would be to update the lounge as the decor and chairs are a bit dingey.
We moved to a room at the top of the house and the windows needed a clean, otherwise the room was perfectly clean. The major problem was that a smoke alarm was fitted directly above the bed and throughout the night two lights flashed every 15 seconds until daylight. It was extremely disturbing for someone whose eyes are light sensitive. I couldn't sleep at all. Please could this problem be rectified?

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Enjoyable stay

Carolyn, Wiltshire, stayed: June 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Taplow House Hotel. The location was excellent, off the beaten track but near everything. Very peaceful and staff were extremely helpful. We were a little disappointed at the small choice on the dinner menu. What we had was delicious and very well cooked, but would have had a job to find things we liked another night.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Quality of food excellent with good service and helpful staff

Anon, stayed: June 2021

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again