The Belsfield

Sophisticated hotel nestled on the banks of Lake Windermere

Member since 2020

Tier four

From £138.50 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £182.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

The Belsfield Reviews

Bowness on Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 3EL

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The Belsfield

165 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

SH, Cheshire, stayed: June 2024

Location is best feature. Decoration and grounds very good. Liked heated floor in bathroom.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Belsfield Hotel

Wayne, Lancashire, stayed: April 2024

Beautiful hotel, very helpful friendly staff
Beds super comfy with gorgeous decor
Meal was excellent



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Good hotel

Cathy, Shropshire, stayed: April 2024

We had a lovely stay at the Belsfield. Staff are helpful and friendly, very approachable. The hotel is good but doesn't quite live up to it's own hype.
Our Lakeview room was ok, but not with the 'beautiful d cor, elegant furnishings and delightful fabrics' that the website promised. Very plain with heavy furniture. The window was quite small and sills attracted doves and pigeons so the windows were muck-streaked. But what a view, especially when the sun shone.
The restaurant is elegant with views over the lake but again doesn't live up to it's 4 star hype and you just feel corners are cut. At dinner we each had a cheese souffle starter. The souffles were overdone, and there were 2 rather flat souffles on top of each other in a pool of quite spicy gazpacho. The burger was ok and tasty but the pork rather bland. We were told they were out of the prawns and lamb. Just a bit under whelming.
Breakfast could have been better. No chopped fruit salad, instead slices of melon and pineapple which was a battle to cut. Monday morning at 9am they had run out of sausages. The menu said streaky bacon, it was back bacon. Menu said poached 'eggs' Benedict, but only a single egg. Also 'hand carved ham' but it was clearly pre sliced. Fried eggs clearly had been sitting for some time, not freshly cooked. In fact the cooked breakfast came so quickly it was clear it wasn't freshly cooked. Just not what was expected of a 4 star hotel.
At least we weren't charged the 15 per day parking charges - quite wrong to charge hotel guests.
We enjoyed our stay but it just wasn't quite as good as expected.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Relaxing break

RB, Lancashire, stayed: March 2024

We were woken up on our last night to the sound of the fire alarm at 3.0 am. We made our way down stairs to the car park nobody checked our name or room number. After a short time we were allowed back into the hotel. Apparently it was a false alarm as we were informed by a letter pushed under our bedroom door. We think your staff should undertake a review of fire drill and regulations as there was no communication with the residents at the time of the event. It was a frightening experience and lots of elderly residents were unsure what was going on.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Wonderful position, nice room, poor reserve

Anon, stayed: March 2024


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The Belsfield is excellent

Wendy A, Lancashire, stayed: February 2024

Our two day stay couldn t have been better. The restaurant food is special. The staff were friendly and obliging, particularly the guy who welcomed us as we arrived (23-25 February) he was also very helpful with the parking situation on the Saturday evening and found us a place to park as the car park was full. The view over the lake from the restaurant and some of the lounges is amazing!



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

One Night Stay

CA, Lancashire, stayed: February 2024

The hotel is in a superb location overlooking Bowness pier and with easy walking access to the pier through the manicured gardens.
Unfortunately the hotel and our bedroom was looking pretty tired with peeling paintwork and stained, shabby carpets in places. The view from our room was of rooftops at the rear of the hotel. It's a shame that we weren't given a free upgrade as there were many unoccupied rooms that night. On checking in we were shown to the lift by a male member of staff but there was no offer of assistance with our luggage. The complementary boat trip was lovely and was very much appreciated. The complementary glass of wine on arrival, quite the opposite. I have enjoyed a glass of wine in various levels of establishments over the last 50 years but this was the worst ever. It was undrinkable. The restaurant meal in the evening was very nice with attentive service but lacked atmosphere due to there being only one other couple dining at the time. For many years I have wanted to stay at the Belsfield and overall the experience was OK but I would be in no hurry to return.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Poor Dining Experience

MC, Merseyside, stayed: February 2024

Only had fifteen covers so harder t manage well in my experience. Limited menu but 25% of courses not available. Most astounding was when we asked for mustard to garnish steaks we were told they didn t have any !!!
A basic cafe always has a jar of Coleman s around , embarrassing
Drink service slow too.
The hotel is otherwise excellent and when they get to spring hopefully the restaurant picks up. The hotel was full but very few people used the restaurant.mThey clearly were more prescient than us



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again