The Relais Cooden Beach

45 bedroom boutique seaside retreat on the Sussex Coast

Member since June 2023

From £104.90 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £169.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

The Relais Cooden Beach Reviews

Bexhill on Sea, TN39 4TT

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The Relais Cooden Beach

5 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Wonderful Stay

Essex, stayed: October 2023

Had a lovely stay the only disappointment was the food. It was not consistently hot



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Two day get away

Stephen H, Surrey, stayed: October 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay, parking good, staff friendly helpful and polite, rooms good but lacking a dressing table.
Restaurant good but don t order fish and chips



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Adekunle F, Suffolk, stayed: October 2023

Had a fantastic time despite late booking.
Staff were excellent and room very clean.
Location sells the hotel.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Seaside Hotel

Colin from Kent, stayed: September 2023

Good quality hotel with great views over the sea



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Not a proper spa hotel

NH, Greater London, stayed: August 2023

We really enjoyed the Cooden Beach Hotel - the ambience was set from arrival with the best check in ever and the staff and service was excellent in every way.

The room was compact but well laid out and made good use of the space. Bed was softer than we are used to but still comfortable and we both slept well. It seemed clean, but not spotless - a contact lense case was left on the bathroom floor so it makes you wonder what else was missed. Our room overlooked the rear of the hotel - the train station but that was not a concern. Even in height of summer with windows open, there was no noticeable noise from the station to cause any inconvenience. It is a very quite station / rail line.

Being able to laze out on the beach deckchairs was lovely, though cold with the sea breeze. We moved onto the lawn which is more sheltered. There is also a lovely (and sheltered) terrace.

All the swimming pool and spa facilities were closed. This is a massive disappointment and really a let down for a hotel at this price point it is an expected feature and service to be able to have.

The dining was superb - really exquisite food. We felt rather let down though in that our package had evening dinner included on the first night. What that meant was a price allowance each off the menu. It was far from an included dinner, though. The price allowance only covered the main course dish but nothing for starters, drinks, dessert, coffee. That was very poor value and we felt mis-sold TBH. I would understand that "included evening dinner" might be insufficient had we just picked the most expensive of everything but when it only covers the main course, that is really substandard.

The prices for the hotel, given the closed / missing facilities, are too high for the standard of what is offered. It is a discrepancy that needs to be resolved. Either reopen the facilities and provide the experience that matches the prices or reduce the price by quite a chunk.

It was nice and I've ticked the "would stay again" box, but that is conditional on the price and offering being better aligned.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your 4* review.

We have not ever advertised this hotel as a spa hotel, this is because they have not had spa facilities since October 2021, nearly two years, they have also only been on our portfolio since June 2023.  

However, they do offer treatments still.

Kind regards,

Off Peak Luxury


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again