The Vicarage

Quaint country inn located in a pretty Cheshire village

Member since 2019

Tier four

From £53 pppn for a 14 night stay
to £117 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

The Vicarage Reviews

Holmes Chapel, Cranage, Cheshire, CW4 8EF

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The Vicarage

21 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

50th Birthday Break

Ria E, stayed: March 2024

I came to the Vicarage for an overnight stay to celebrate my mums 50th with family. The stay was incredibly pleasant and set in the idyllic village of Holmes Chapel. The reception staff for the hotel were very polite and welcoming. The staff at the restaurant were also very attentive, it made for a really relaxing over night stay.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Great Value with the deal

Anon, stayed: February 2024

Great staff, nice food, nice environment. Was very quiet as in Feb hence got a good deal.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

The Vicarage - could do better, aka, not worth the money

Anon, stayed: November 2022

Rude staff and not quite good enough sums up our stay at the Vicarage. The room was OK but the strange sliding door to the bathroom didn't allow any privacy.
We had our evening meal on the first night includied in our booking and whilst the food was really nice the service was really poor. We both ordered the same starter and main but they only brought one starter which we had to share and everything seemed an inconvenience. Then they tried to charge us for the full cost of the meal which took an age to sort out.
Breakfast was awful. There were no glasses for juice and we were given tea in mugs but with no milk. When the food came, it was inedible. On the first morning , I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The salmon was mostly black and they did replace it when I pointed it out, but the eggs were little hard lumps on tough bread. My partner had the small breakfast and said the sausages were cheap and nasty and the egg and bacon tasted off. The next morning, we were first to breakfast and had proper pots of tea and juice but opted for bacon and sausage sandwiches, and these were inedible with tough bread and a nasty taste of the bacon and sausage.
The venue and location are lovely, but with the very poor service, it's just not worth the money



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Harry Potter Stay

Emily, Warwickshire, stayed: November 2022

We stayed here as it was an ideal location to visit the Harry Potter Forbidden Forest Experience. On arrival we had to drive around the car park a few times as there were no spaces. Eventually we went to check in, the lady at reception was friendly and helpful (we didn t receive our welcome drinks so had to get these at the bar later on).

The room was clean but basic and small. The radiator didn t work and the shower needs addressing as it almost flooded the bathroom floor. The bed was ok for one night but pretty sure it wasn t a double bed, maybe a small double.

Dinner was lovely, took a while to arrive but nice and fresh ingredients. The cocktails were lovely too! It was nice having a live singer too - really enjoyable atmosphere.

Breakfast - they probably shouldn t offer this service. We waited at the table 20 minutes and eventually went up to ask if somebody could come and bring us a menu and take our order for hot drinks. Nobody came over so we did this at the bar. The continental area had no pastries left, the juice containers were empty, no yoghurts left in the fridge and the bread had dried out.
Eventually after a while, we received our drinks (with no milk, had to go up and ask for this again) and then another 20 minutes after this, received our breakfast. Small portions but nice enough. I will add - breakfast service wasn t particularly busy, the restaurant was large and there were probably only another 3 to 4 tables being used at the same time so unsure why service was so slow.

Parts of the stay were nice but I wouldn t class this as a luxury stay and there are other places around the area for the same cost which seem to have better reviews.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Good location for Jodrell Bank Visit

Anon, stayed: September 2022

Stayed to visit friends in Manchester and to visit Jodrell bank. The hotel location was excellent for those purposes. Unfortunately the room TV was not fit for purpose, it was internet dependant and kept cutting out making it impossible to watch even the news. The restaurant was not up to our expected standard although the Breakfast was very good.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: September 2022


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Disappointing

KW, Cheshire, stayed: September 2022

The Vicarage was poorly described as a country hotel, located on the A50 which is a very busy road, not even set back down a drive. Our room was the smallest accessible room we've stayed in, smaller than on cruise ships we've been on. It had a very well appointed wet room that was spacious and equipped with lots of handrails. Bedroom itself had dark grey walls, carpet and black, budget hotel-style furniture so seemed even gloomier! Had no mirror in Bedroom, only in bathroom which had no shaver plug either. Requested a mirror for Bedroom and a full length mirror was brought the same day. However, not fixed to wall and had to balance on waste paper bin to use. Front of house staff were very friendly and helpful, best part about The Vicarage. Food poor and v. hit and miss. Sent steak back twice as came rare but had ordered it medium. Poor breakfast choices with no Danish pastries due to non delivery one day, another day no yogurts, and fruit choices were oranges or grapes.Supposed to be dog friendly and staff and hotel were; however nowhere but car park to walk our dog, no grassy area and busy, noisy road certainly not suitable.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

It could be much better

AC, West Sussex, stayed: July 2022

We arrived on the hottest day of the year in July and the room which was quite pleasant was stifling. Staff had made an attempt to mitigate the heat with the provision of a small fan which frankly wasn't up to the job. The hotel is on a main road which is busy all the time and with the single glazed windows open at night, it was very difficult to sleep because of the noise. Staff were pleasant, willing and responsive but very short on the ground meaning you often had to wait a long time to be served, either in the restaurant, garden or bar. There were some nice touches in the room although the furniture could have been more functional. We had a nice and very big en-suite with a freestanding Victorian style bath. The idea is nice but it took forever to get a reasonable amount of water in it. Unfortunately, it wasn't cleaned properly.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: